2013 - 2014 Seminar Series

Fall 2013


Thursday, September 19, 2013: 

Dr. Stephen Harrison, Harvard Medical School

"Influenza virus hemagglutinin as fusogen and antigen"


Thursday, September 26, 2013: 

Dr. Bing Chen, Boston Children's Hospital

"Mechanism of HIV-1 Neutralization by Antibodies Targeting a Membrane-Proximal Region of gp41"


Thursday, October 3, 2013: 

Dr. Amitinder Kaur, Harvard Medical School New England Primate Research Center

"Innate immunity in natural hosts of SIV infection"


Thursday, October 10, 2013: 

Dr. Joseph Sodroski, Dana Farber Cancer Institute

“Structure and Function of the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV-1) Envelope Glycoproteins”


Thursday, October 24, 2013: 

Dr. James Chodosh, Massachusetts Eye & Ear Infirmary

"Evolution of Human Adenovirus Species D"


Thursday, October 31, 2013: 

Dr. Jonathan Weissman, University of California, San Francisco

"Globally monitoring translation one codon at a time through ribosome profiling”


Thursday, November 7, 2013: Wine and cheese reception following the seminar.

Dr. Bernard Roizman, University of Chicago

"Herpes Simplex Virus and Their Hosts: The Strategy of Co-habitation"


Thursday, November 14, 2013: 

Dr. Tomas Kirchhausen, Harvard Medical School, Immune Disease Institute

“Real-time Imaging of Virus Entry and Penetration in Live Cells”


Thursday, November 21, 2013: 

Dr. Shannon Kenney, University of Wisconsin

"Epstein-Barr virus: from bench to bedside"


Thursday, November 28, 2013: Thanksgiving Recess


Thursday, December 5, 2013: Wine and cheese reception following the seminar; joint seminar with CFAR.

Dr. Peter Kwong, Vaccine Research Center, NIAID, NIH

"From antibody to vaccine for HIV-1 and RSV" Co-sponsored by CFAR


Spring 2014


Thursday, January 16, 2014: 

Dr. Frederick Wang, Brigham & Women's Hospital

“Epstein-Barr Virus Infection: When a kiss is not just a kiss….”


Thursday, January 23, 2014: 

Dr. Bruce Walker, Massachusetts General Hospital

"HIV adaptation to host immune pressure: Implications for vaccine design"


Thursday, January 30, 2014: 

Dr. Donald Coen, Harvard Medical School

“Fun with Herpes”


Thursday, February 6, 2014: Jointly sponsored by Harvard CFAR

Dr. Paul Bieniasz, The Rockefeller University, Aaron Diamond AIDS Research Center

"Anti-retroviral proteins and HIV-1 host range" Co-sponsored by the HU CFAR


Thursday, February 13, 2014: 

Dr. Dan Barouch, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

“Novel HIV Vaccine Strategies”


Thursday, February 20, 2014: 

Dr. Victoria D’Souza, Harvard University

“Unraveling viral RNA genomes: One segment at a time”


Thursday, February 27, 2014: Wine and cheese reception following the seminar.

Dr. Lynn Enquist, Princeton University

"Imaging Alpha Herpesvirus Infection of the Mouse Peripheral Nervous System In Vivo"


Thursday, March 6, 2014: 

No seminar


Thursday, March 13, 2014: 

Dr. Kartik Chandran, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

“Uncovering the Ebola virus-host cell interface: identifying essential cellular receptors for viral entry”


Thursday, March 20, 2014: 

Dr. Thomas Baumert, University of Strasbourg, France

"Hepatitis C virus entry - biological circuits and pathogenesis of disease"


Thursday, March 27, 2014: 

Dr. David Livingston, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

“A viral oncoprotein-targeted pathway that licenses cellular quiescence”


Thursday, April 3, 2014: 

Dr. David Knipe, Harvard Medical School

“Nuclear DNA sensing, innate immunity and epigenetic regulation”


Thursday, April 10, 2014: Jointly sponsored by BCMP

Dr. Joseph M. Colacino, JOINTLY SPONSORED BY THE VIROLOGY PROGRAM AND BCMP

“Approaches to the discovery and development of anti-flavivirus agents"


Thursday, April 17, 2014: 

Dr. Kenneth Kaye, Brigham & Women's Hospital

“Persistence of a tumor virus, KSHV's survival strategy”


Thursday, April 24, 2014: 

Dr. Igor Koralnik, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

"Novel diseases of the brain caused by JC virus: universal lessons from an accidental pathogen"


Thursday, May 1, 2014: 

Dr. Lee Gehrke, Harvard Medical School

“Activation of Innate Immune Signaling by Viral RNAs”


Thursday, May 8, 2014: 

Nicholas Provine, Fourth-year Talk: Barouch Lab

"Longitudinal requirement for CD4 T cell help for adenovirus vector-elicited CD8 T cell responses"


Thursday, May 8, 2014: 

Christine Bricault, Fourth-year Talk: Barouch Lab

"Development of a Multivalent HIV-1 Envelope Protein Subunit Vaccine Candidate"


Thursday, May 15, 2014: 

Ann Fiegen, Fourth-year Talk: Gehrke Lab

"RNA containing modifications disrupts RIG-I activation to evade innate immune signaling"


Thursday, May 15, 2014: 

Lindsey Robinson, Fourth-year Talk: Whelan Lab

"Reconstructing the entry pathway of an extinct virus"


Thursday, May 22, 2014: 

Meredith Davis, Fourth-year Talk: Gack Lab

"Measles virus V protein targets the phosphatase PP1 for innate immune escape of MDA5"


Thursday, May 22, 2014: 

Jyoti Dev, Fourth-year Talk: Chou Lab


Thursday, June 5, 2014: 

Andrew Rahmberg, Fourth-year Talk: Johnson Lab

"High-throughput transcriptional analysis of HIV/SIV restriction and dependency factors in CD4+ T cells"


Thursday, June 5, 2014: 

Christian Ayeni, Fourth-year Talk: Knipe Lab

"Innate Immune Responses to the HSV-2 Vaccine Candidate dl5-29"


Thursday, June 12, 2014: 

Marissa Herrman, Fourth-year Talk: Wang Lab

“Neutralizing Antibodies and Epstein Barr Virus Infection”


Thursday, June 12, 2014: 

Jordan Meyers, Fourth-year Talk: Munger Lab

“HPV8: getting some skin in the game”


Time and Location


 

Thursdays, 4:00 pm

 

Harvard Medical School

New Research Building

Room 1031

77 Avenue Louis Pasteur

Boston, MA

 

Refreshments at 3:45 pm

 


 

 


© 2013 by the President and Fellows of Harvard College