PiN Faculty Member - Bradford Lowell, MD, PhD

Bradford Lowell, MD, PhD

Professor of Medicine

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Center for Life Science, room 703
3 Blackfan Circle
Boston, MA 02215
Tel: 617-735-3366
Fax: 617-735-3323
Visit my lab page here.

We utilize genetic engineering techniques in mice, electrophysiology, optogenetics, chemogenetics, rabies mapping, ChR2-assisted circuit mapping, in vivo assessments of neuronal activity, and single neuron transcriptomics to elucidate neural circuits controlling hunger, other homeostatic motivational drives, the autonomic nervous system and the neuroendocrine system Neuron-specific recombinase driver mice are used in conjunction with recombinase-dependent AAVs expressing various genetically encoded “tools” to selectively (in a neuron cell type-specific fashion): a) map connectivity between neurons to establish their “wiring diagrams”, b) manipulate neuron firing rates in vivo to determine their roles in regulating behavior and physiology, and c) measure neuron activity in vivo to establish their responses to discrete behavioral and physiologic perturbations.

The above-mentioned approaches are powerful, but their impact can be limited by the fact that we do not know the different neurons that make up each “homeostatic” brain region (i.e. the “parts list”), and related to that, we do not have the “enabling” recombinase mice that would provide experimental access to these presently unknown neurons. Thus, to augment the above-mentioned approaches, we are: 1) performing single neuron transcriptomics on “homeostatic” brain regions to reveal the different neurons that exist in each of these brain sites (i.e. the “parts list”) and the genetic markers that specify each of these unique “parts” (i.e. the neurons), and 2) then using these genetic markers and CRISPR genetic engineering, we are rapidly generating mice expressing recombinases in each of the interesting, novel neurons.

Last Update: 12/5/2018


For a complete listing of publications click here.



© 2016 President and Fellows
of Harvard College